InterAction Members Respond To Typhoon Haiyan

> Return to List of Crises

REUTERS/Romeo Ranoco

One of the most powerful typhoons ever recorded devastated parts of the central Philippines on November 8, 2013, affecting more than 14 million people – including at least five million children. Many lost everything: their loved ones, their homes, their livelihoods. 

A disaster of this magnitude required a massive and coordinated global response effort. Supplies and experienced humanitarian workers, including from the InterAction members listed below, were deployed from around the world in the immediate aftermath to support government-led efforts in the Philippines. Many InterAction members had worked in these areas for decades and have established partner networks in the country.

It will take years for the communities hit by Haiyan to recover and rebuild. InterAction members continue to support that effort. Visit their websites to learn more about their ongoing work.

Please scroll down to see how InterAction members responded to the crisis in the first few months after the typhoon.

See InterAction's guidelines on the most appropriate ways to help those affected by overseas disasters, or visit the Center for International Disaster Information for more information about appropriate disaster relief response.

Media inquiries may be directed to Burt Edwards (bedwards@interaction.org or 202.552.6554).  

Action Against Hunger USA

With extensive experience working across the Philippines since 2000, Action Against Hunger’s on-the-ground experts were able to mount an immediate post-typhoon emergency...

donate

Adventist Development and Relief Agency International

Adventist Development and Relief Agency (ADRA) is on the ground with emergency teams to assess the damage and provide relief assistance with project centers both in the capital...

donate

All Hands Volunteers

PROJECT LEYTE was launched on Monday, December 2nd. Our initial work will focus on helping residents clear debris and salvage any materials that can be re-used. We hope to...

donate

American Jewish Joint Distribution Committee

The American Jewish Joint Distribution Committee (JDC) has begun collecting funds for relief efforts. Responding to a quickly rising death toll and catastrophic destruction, JDC...

donate

American Red Cross International Services

The American Red Cross is supporting the Philippine Red Cross in their response to Typhoon Haiyan. In addition to supporting evacuations before the storm struck, the global Red...

donate

American Refugee Committee

The American Refugee Committee (ARC) will carry out rapid assessments in rural areas of the Philippines that were devastated by Typhoon Haiyan.  ARC will engage with local...

donate

AmeriCares

AmeriCares is responding to Typhoon Haiyan by providing medicines, medical supplies, and relief items to long-standing partners in the Philippines, with whom we’ve worked for more...

donate

Brother’s Brother Foundation

Brother's Brother Foundation (BBF) is working with the Philippine American Medical Society of Western Pennsylvania and other Philippine Medical Societies to provide assistance in...

donate

Buddhist Tzu Chi Foundation

Through the cash-for-work program, Tzu Chi has provided 500 pesos per day per person to clean debris from disaster stricken areas, most notably the city of Tacloban. Starting from...

donate

Catholic Relief Services

Catholic Relief Services has been active in the Philippines for decades and will be working on the recovery from this storm for as long as needed. Our initial help will be shelter...

donate

CBM

CBM has a regional office in the Philippines.  Our emergency response unit is working closely with the regional office and the 10 partners located in the path of typhoon...

donate

ChildFund International

ChildFund, along with our partners in the ChildFund Alliance, has launched an appeal for $10 million for immediate relief and long-term recovery for children and families affected...

donate

Church World Service

CWS will support early response and recovery efforts of fellow members of the ACT Alliance that have significant operations in the Philippines, including the United Methodist...

donate

CONCERN Worldwide U.S., Inc.

Members of Concern’s emergency response team, including our Manila-based country representative, have launched a rapid needs assessment focusing on the most impacted areas in...

donate

Convoy of Hope

To date, more than 1.3 million meals have been distributed in the Philippines. In all, approximately 3,000,000 meals as well as relief supplies like water filters, hygiene...

donate

Direct Relief International

More than 1.5 tons of emergency medicine and medical supplies – valued at $275,000 – are en route to the Philippines, with more on the way, as Direct Relief’s Emergency Team...

donate

Friends of ACTED

ACTED teams, present in the Philippines since December 2012 and the previous response to Typhoon Bopha, are responding to the crisis. A REACH team, dedicated to coordination...

donate

Giving Children Hope

Giving Children Hope is working to immediately send hygiene products, water filtration systems, medical supplies, and basic goods like diapers. In addition, we are preparing to...

donate

Global Communities

Global Communities is sending out an experienced team to assess the situation and begin preparations for a recovery period. Our team will be focused on transitional shelter,...

donate

GlobalGiving

This fund will support disaster recovery and relief efforts in the aftermath of Super Typhoon Haiyan in the Philippines, as well as in any other areas the storm ends up reaching...

donate

Habitat for Humanity International

Habitat for Humanity teams are assessing shelter needs in all areas affected. Immediate response efforts include the distribution of 50,000 clean-up and hygiene kits for immediate...

donate

Handicap International

Handicap International has been working in the Philippines for 28 years. In our immediate response to the emergency, we brought in 50 water filtration pumps to the worst-affected...

donate

Heifer International

Heifer International is working with local organizations and the local government to provide relief to our 4,000 project members affected by Typhoon Haiyan. When our farmers are...

donate

HelpAge USA

HelpAge will work with its local partner and affiliate, Coalition of Services of the Elderly (COSE), to respond to the urgent needs of over 100,000 people who are older as well as...

donate

Helping Hand for Relief and Development

Helping Hand for Relief and Development (HHRD) has launched an emergency response for the victims of Philippines Typhoon. The response will include food, clean water, shelter,...

donate

International Emergency and Development Aid

For the initial phase of its emergency response in the Philippines, IEDA Relief has deployed a team of experts to conduct a needs assessment. IEDA Relief has the capacity to...

donate

International Medical Corps

International Medical Corps has a team on the ground in the Philippines following Super Typhoon Haiyan. Noel Miranda, who previously led an International Medical Corps pandemic...

donate

International Orthodox Christian Charities

International Orthodox International Orthodox Christian Charities (IOCC) has assembled its emergency response personnel to assess the urgent humanitarian needs for victims of...

donate

International Relief and Development

International Relief & Development (IRD) staff and partners are currently conducting assessments on the ground in the affected areas, and IRD has an extensive network of in-...

donate

International Relief Teams

Working with a consortium of local partners, International Relief Teams (IRT) is providing water, food and water purification tablets to affected regions within the Philippines....

donate

International Rescue Committee

The International Rescue Committee (IRC)  has dispatched an emergency team to the Philippines to launch an urgent response to the humanitarian crisis wreaked by Typhoon...

donate

Islamic Relief USA

Islamic Relief USA has launched an emergency appeal to assist survivors of Typhoon Haiyan. Islamic Relief's teams around the world are working hard to send immediate relief to...

donate

Life for Relief & Development

Life for Relief and Development is working with its partners to provide emergency aid to families that have been affected by Typhoon Haiyan in the Philippines. Life plans to...

donate

Lutheran World Relief

Lutheran World Relief, with more than 25 years experience in the Philippines, is mobilizing staff and resources to respond to Typhoon Haiyan. Coordinating with local partners and...

donate

Lutheran World Relief

In response to Typhoon Haiyan, LWR is distributing shelter repair kits; implementing cash-for-work activities focused on debris removal while also getting much-...

donate

Lutheran World Relief

Immediately after Typhoon Haiyan hit the Philippines, Lutheran World Relief (LWR) was on the ground working with local partners to mobilize resources and implement relief and...

donate

MedShare International

MedShare is supporting Medical Mission teams on the ground who are delivering life-saving medical supplies to the survivors of Super Typhoon Haiyan in the Philippines. MedShare...

donate

Mennonite Central Committee U.S.

As the devastation from Typhoon Haiyan continues to unfold in the Philippines, MCC partners are on the ground delivering emergency aid to storm survivors and assessing the next...

donate

Mercy Corps

Mercy Corps is deploying seasoned emergency responders and will be working with partners on the ground to meet the urgent humanitarian needs of survivors. In the wake of one of...

donate

Operation USA

 Having worked on disaster relief in the Philippines since 1986, we have long term partners on the ground through which are delivering aid, particularly through the Ministry...

donate

Oxfam America

Oxfam’s rapid assessment teams have been deployed to Samar, Leyte and Northern Cabu to provide emergency supplies of water, sanitation and shelter.The most urgent needs are...

donate

PCI

PCI is sending a humanitarian rapid response and assessment team to the Philippines. The team will be identifying the hardest hit areas and assessing the short-term, medium-term...

donate

Plan International USA

Plan International USA has prepositioned WASH kits in all program units and in emergency shelters and is working to mobilize support from other country offices in the region.

donate

Presbyterian Disaster Assistance and Hunger Program

Presbyterian Disaster Assistance is working in collaboration with our local partner and as a member of the international ACT Alliance to respond to this crisis. Food and water had...

donate

Project C.U.R.E.

Project C.U.R.E. sent a 20-foot, disaster relief container of medical supplies to Bethany Hospital in Tacloban. Contents of the container were delivered by the Philippine...

Relief International

Relief International (RI) is providing emergency needs and primary medical care to Typhoon Haiyan survivors. RI’s team is on the ground in the Philippines mounting a response to...

donate

Save the Children

Save the Children has established operations to provide urgently needed support to children and their families following the destruction caused by Typhoon Haiyan in the...

donate

ShelterBox USA

ShelterBox is focusing on providing emergency tented shelter, water filters, blankets, toolkits, solar lights and other non-food items to families impacted by the Typhoon Haiyan....

donate

Unitarian Universalist Service Committee

As is our practice with international disaster relief, Unitarian Universalist Service Committee (UUSC) will take the lead in distributing funds where they can do the most good,...

donate

United Methodist Committee on Relief

UMCOR HQ approved a grant to our Philippines office to provide emergency food, water, and water purification tablets to 7,500 people (about 1,500 families) in Tacloban City, Leyte...

donate

US Fund for UNICEF

More than 5 million children have been affected by Typhoon Haiyan, with more than 1,700,000 children displaced. UNICEF’s top priorities are focused on life-saving interventions –...

donate

USA for UNHCR

UNHCR, along with other international agencies, is working closely with the Government of the Philippines to reach those affected by the super typhoon, as the number of reported...

donate

World Concern

World Concern is responding through our partners on the ground, providing technical assistance and expertise, support for early response (water, NFIs, food, shelter), as well as...

donate

World Food Program USA

A cargo of special biscuits designed for emergency situations arrived in the Philippines on November 12 as part of the World Food Program’s (WFP) contribution to the Typhoon...

donate

World Renew

World Renew is responding to Typhoon Haiyan in cooperation with the 19 members of the Integral Alliance. World Renew’s main partner is the Christian Reformed Church in the...

donate

World Animal Protection

WSPA’s Disaster Response Team has been deployed to the Philippines and is working with key partner organizations and disaster response trained veterinary practitioners to assess...

donate

World Vision

World Vision (WV) has launched a multi-million dollar global appeal for financial support to provide emergency relief to 400,000 people in the Philippines. We have deployed four...

donate

Zakat Foundation of America

Zakat Foundation of America (ZF) has dispatched a team to assess the needs. In the immediate time, ZF will provide basic food packages with rice, sardines, and water to victims of...

donate

Media Contacts

Action Against Hunger
Elisabeth Anderson Rapport
erapport@actionagainsthunger.org
917-224-0315

ADRA International
Crister L. DelaCruz
crister.delacruz@adra.org
301-680-6373

All Hands Volunteers
Tamera Gugelmeyer
tamera@hands.org

American Jewish Joint Distribution Committee
Michael Geller
michael.geller@jdcny.org
212-885-0838

American Jewish World Service
Suzanne Offen
soffen@ajws.org
212-792-2889

American Red Cross
Jana Sweeny
sweenyj@usa.redcross.org
202-303-5314

American Refugee Committee
Therese M. Gales
thereseg@archq.org
612-221-5161

AmeriCares
Donna Porstner
dporstner@americares.org
203-658-9579

Brother's Brother Foundation
Karen Dempsey
kdempsey@brothersbrother.org
412-237-2324

Build Change
Allison Heyne
allison@buildchange.org
720-287-1541

CARE
Brian Feagans
bfeagans@care.org
404-979-9453

Catholic Relief Services
Tom Price
tom.price@crs.org
410-951-7450

ChildFund International
Cynthia Price
cprice@childfund.org
804-756-2722

Church World Service
Matt Hackworth
mhackworth@cwsglobal.org
908-420-8630

Concern Worldwide
Ed Kenney
ed.kenney@concern.net
212-557-8000

Convoy of Hope
Jeff Nene
jnene@convoyofhope.org
202-280-2002

Direct Relief
Kerri Murray
kmurray@directrelief.org
805-964-4767

Feed the Children
Erin Engelke
erin.engelke@feedthechildren.org
405-863-8616

 

 

 

Giving Children Hope
Cathy Baek
cbaek@gchope.org
714-523-4454 Ext. 107

GlobalGiving
Alison Carlman
acarlman@globalgiving.org
202-330-4027

Habitat for Humanity International
Jennifer Lindsey
jlindsey@habitat.org
785-338-3840

Handicap International
Mica Bevington
mbevington@handicap-international.us
202-290-9264

Heifer International
Allison Stephens
allison.stephens@heifer.org
501-907-2952

HelpAge USA
Jane Scobie
jscobie@helpage.org
+44 20-7278-7778

Helping Hand
Nuzhat Jawed
nuzhat@helpinghandonline.org
313-279-5378 x104

Humane Society International
Raul Contreras
rcontreras@humanesociety.org
301-721-6440

International Medical Corps
Jaya Vadlamudi
jvadlamudi@InternationalMedicalCorps.org
310-826-7800

International Orthodox Christian Charities
Rada Tierney 
rtierney@iocc.org
410-243-9820

International Relief & Development
Jeffrey Grieco
jgrieco@ird-dc.org
703-647-2171

International Relief Teams
Susan Callahan
619-284-7979

International Rescue Committee
Edward Bligh
ebligh@rescue.org

Islamic Relief
David Hawa
703-338-4141

Life for Relief & Development
Mohammad Alomari
malomari@lifeusa.org
(248)-424-7493 Ext 7421

Lutheran World Relief
Emily Sollie
410-230-2802

MedShare
Hannah Mae Miners
hminers@medshare.org
404-537-5083

Mennonite Central Committee U.S.
Cheryl Zehr Walker
CherylZehrWalker@mcc.org
717-859-1151

  

Mercy Corps
Christine Nyirjesy Bragale
cbragale@dc.mercycorps.org 
202-834-7900

OperationUSA
Mary Dolan
mdolan@opusa.org
323-413-2353

Oxfam America
Matt Herrick
mherrick@oxfamamerica.org
617-821-7653

PCI International
Bonnie Maratea
bmaratea@pciglobal.org
858-279-9690 x326

Plan International USA
Robin Costello
robin.costello@planusa.org
401-738-5600 x 1318 

Presbyterian Disaster Assistance
Pamela Burdine
pamela.burdine@pcusa.org
1-888-728-7228 ext 5839

Save the Children
Francine Uenuma
fuenuma@savechildren.org
202-640-6810

ShelterBox USA
Tiffany Stephenson
tstephenson@shelterboxusa.org
941-726-6209

Unitarian Universalist Service Committee
Dick Campbell
dcampbell@uusc.org
617-868-6600 ext. 230

United Methodist Committee on Relief
James Rollins
jrollins@umcor.org
347-254-0932

U.S. Fund for UNICEF
Susannah Masur
smasur@unicefusa.org
212-880-9146

World Concern
Cathy Herholdt
cathyh@worldconcern.org
425-205-7412 

World Food Program USA
Erin Cochran
ecochran@wfpusa.org
202-627-3931

World Renew
Beth Degraff
bdegraff@worldrenew.net
1-800-552-7972

World Vision
Laura Blank
lblank@worldvision.org
708-872-5265