November 29, 2018 | 8:00AM-9:30AM

Language in Protective Humanitarian Action: Practical lessons from Myanmar/Bangladesh and Northeast Nigeria

Please join us for a webinar discussion with Translators without Borders and several protection practitioners to unpack the various layers of vulnerability of affected individuals linked to language barriers, implications of language barriers for affected populations and humanitarians, and practical steps humanitarian actors can take to improve two-way communication regarding the risk environment, consistent with results-based approaches to protection.

Acknowledging the reality of multi-lingual humanitarian environments and building on Translators without Border’s recent research in Northeast Nigeria and Bangladesh, several expert speakers will reflect on their experiences and explore how humanitarian actors can improve two-way communication with affected populations.

Participation + Registration:

  • 8:00 – 9:30 am (Washington, DC)
  • 1:00 – 2:30 pm (London)
  • 2:00 – 3:30 pm (Abuja)
  • 2:00 – 3:30 pm (Geneva)
  • 7:30 – 9:00 pm (Rakhine)

To sign-up for the webinar on November 29th from 8:00-9:30 am (Washington, DC), please register in advance. You must register to receive your personalized link to join the webinar.

Please contact Keri Baughman with any questions.