Call for Nominations: 2024 Disability Inclusion Award

Call for Nominations: 2024 Disability Inclusion Award

Nomination Deadline: May 8, 2024 at 5 p.m. EDT.

Nominations for the Disability Inclusion Award are now open here.

InterAction will announce the winner during the InterAction Forum 2024, to be held in person on June 25 – 26, 2024.

Please see below for specific criteria for the Disability Inclusion Award. 

InterAction Disability Inclusion Award

InterAction established the Disability Inclusion Award in collaboration with Mobility International USA (MIUSA) in 2009 in honor of the U.N. Convention on the Rights of People with Disabilities (UNCRPD). This award recognizes organizations within the sector that have worked toward greater disability inclusion by taking exceptional, proactive, and innovative measures to integrate and mainstream people with disability into their general programs, activities, and operations. Recipients of the awards demonstrate a commitment to ensure the full inclusion of people with disability and approach disability as an essential cross-cutting issue, which uses a human rights lens throughout all aspects of their organization’s work.

Nominees must be able to demonstrate at least one or more of the following criteria: 

  • An innovative approach to disability inclusion and mainstreaming of people with disability in a development program broadly defined (i.e., democracy and governance, employment, education, HIV/AIDS, health, peace and security, etc.). 
  • A broader, organization-wide commitment to inclusion and/or a unique effort to raise awareness of disability issues as a cross-cutting theme throughout the organization. 
  • A disability-specific program that provided best practices or provided innovative approaches that were then replicated into other similar, non-disability-specific programming. 
  • An outstanding contribution (leadership, initiatives, research, studies, tool, etc.) to the field of disability inclusion and disability and development that can be utilized by the international development community and demonstrates significant improvement in the lives of people with disability. 

If you would like to nominate an organization or individual, please use the form here.

*Nominations will be accepted until May 31, 2024* 

Note that InterAction Member and non-Member organizations are invited to apply. Organizations that are solely focused on disability programs, disability-specific organizations, or organizations that have won the award within the past five years are not eligible for consideration. If you have questions, please contact Deborah Willig at

Past Honorees: 

(2023 No Recipients due to Forum Schedule Change) 

2022 Co-Recipients:  Save the Children U.S. and WEEMA International 

2021      FHI 360 and MADRE 

2019      Women’s Refugee Commission 

2018      Jay Nash 

2017      Judi Heumann 

2016      Help Age USA 

2015      World Learning 

2014      Trickle Up 

2013      Habitat for Humanity International 

2012      World Vision 

2011      International Rescue Committee 

2011      International Foundation for Electoral Systems 

2010      Mercy Corps 

2009      Trickle Up